"...It's quite amazing how I've gone around for most of my life as in the rarefied atmosphere under a bell jar."
--Sylvia Plath




01.21.2003
"Progression"


BLOG | ELLIE | ARCHIVES | GUESTBOOK |EMAIL

01.21.2003 .]|[. Progression yester
now
tomorry

It has been brought to my attention that I am not invincible as I have previously believed. Though I feel all scars and marks that label a person as growing could pass by me, "realism" would like to slap my face and say, "you're a good person and all, Ellie, but you aren't better than anybody else." Or maybe it's just a little slap that says, "See this? This is a sign of progression; progression means things are happening, Ellie. What is happening with YOU?"

Yesterday, I found a gray hair. My first gray hair. Frail and thin, lying surreptitiously one inch from the top of my forehead, lying conspicuously amongst my brownish-reddish hairs, waving quietly as if to say, "They haven't noticed me yet. Shhh�don't say anything!"

Tears came to my eyes. Is this ridiculous? Is it crazy that I should feel like crying when I find my first gray hair? I think so. Deep down inside, I think that vanity should not make a person cry. But to defend myself, it wasn't for vanity. It was for � progress.

I wanted to have a novel written by the time I was 22. I was going to be one of those people--the ones who didn't care if they were published or not, because it wasn't a copyright page that made you an author--it was the hard work, the toil, the effort. I'm 25; 26 in four months, and I have put in no toil, no effort� no hard work.

Is this gray hair to remind me that time is passing and I am changing and perhaps before the second one grows in I should take my life a little more seriously? I don't want to be here forever. I don't want to be a caseworker, in a cubicle, answering the phone and taking notes and feeling frustrated and making deadlines and remembering all the phrases I need to include in my reports. This isn't what Ellie wants and it certainly isn't who Ellie is. It's a good job; it's a worthy job. I understand and appreciate that my job makes a difference and I actually affect people. But it isn't what's planned for me. I'm not saying that there is a set plan, put forward by some higher thing, but I am saying that my plan--my own "thing"--is not this.

I'm a writer. I may not have filled as many pages as I did three years ago, and I may not have anything published between two hard covers or in the glossy pages of a magazine, but it's in me. The suffering I know has to go on when you want to write is the only thing I'm afraid of. I don't want to live or feel what Ernest Hemingway or Virginia Woolf felt, but I do want to project the feelings I have that are akin to them in pages that can be appreciated, and if not appreciated, at least expelled from me.

Yesterday, I found my first gray hair.

Now I have to do something to show I've earned it.

At least, that's how I'm going to look at it.



yester | current | tomorry | up again


Message Board

Name


URL
Message

Click!





Ellie Hingenbottom
b. 05/26. Writer. Vegetarian. Woman. Journaller. Survivor.




AgentMerp has created the Hitman Project, an excellent gallery of diary-author replication. Go find me!

join ellie's notify list!






The Mighty Kymm
Erasing
Reiny Day Rachel
Kismet


Support the fight against AIDS





All material on this site is maintained and copyrighted by Ellie Hingenbottom, 2001-2003
This site was made using Internet Explorer 5 for the Macintosh

i like it!