"...It's quite amazing how I've gone around for most of my life as in the rarefied atmosphere under a bell jar."
--Sylvia Plath




01.16.2004
"Hugs to all!"


BLOG | ELLIE | ARCHIVES | GUESTBOOK |EMAIL

01.16.2004 .]|[. Hugs to all! yester
now
tomorry

Hey everybody! I'm having some problems accessing my blog right now. Wanted to post to you the Friday Five:

1. What does it say in the signature line of your emails? "It is immoral not to tell. --Albert Camus"

2. Did you have a senior quote in your high school yearbook? What was it? If you haven't graduated yet, what would you like your quote to be? Oh, I did. Under my senior picture it read, "Protect yourself in everything you do: helmets, seatbelts and condoms." I care so much about our people!

3. If you had vanity plates on your car, what would they read? If you already have them, what do they say? Sometimes I feel vanity plates are gay, mostly because I'm not too close with the people who have them (they're gay). But if I could, my plate would read "CUNT"--cause that's original and shocking to the BMW drivers who are embarrassed with their "oh!" face. PUNKS.

4. Have you received any gifts with messages engraved upon them? Only the gift from the Urban League with my initials on it.

5. What would you like your epitaph to be? This is the thing on my tombstone, right? Fortunately, I decided this a long time ago and so can answer the question: "You better be crying."

Have I mentioned that the last four-five months have been absolutely horrible for me? Leaving Rochester. Probably definitely wouldn't have stayed late after work that night I got in the car accident. That seemed to be the impetus for everything falling apart. Since that day, I had headaches almost everyday up until two weeks ago, when I started the Body-for-Life program with Sean, about two days after I think I fell over the hump of my flu/mono sickness. I drink a massive amount of water almost everyday and eat six meals a day, plus we work out, and that seems to be helping. Money is always the biggest issue though, isn't it? Sucks ass, if you ask me.

I have sent out about 35-40 resumes and haven't heard back. It's incredibly discouraging. I did sent out two applications for caseworker/social worker jobs, however, I'm wary to get back into that line of work. So last Sunday Sean and I went to eat at Don Pablo's, the mexican restaurant (food chain). While eating, I asked the waitress how hard it was to get a job as a server with no prior experience. She said "easy" and brought me an application. I completed it, the manager came over, talked to me, and hired me. So at least I'll have some money coming in. Sean also found us a studio apartment to live in until his house is completed, and then he'll live at his house and I'll stay on in the studio. I'm excited to live in a studio in downtown Baltimore, actually. We went to go see it yesterday and walked from the apartment to eat lunch and it was so great, to be roaming around in downtown Baltimore, with all the churches, the row houses, the brick and the traffic. I imagine it's like the quasi-city-suburbs of New York City.

The apartment is definitely small. Definitely a studio (they weren't kidding!), but I'm happy to be living there anyway. I'm excited to have a space I can decorate again and make space-worthy.

I'm still writing my novel. It's hard, man. I'm so used to writing short stories and wrapping it up and making it boom-boom-boom.

I'd love it if some of you read it. Please email me if you'd like the link to the book. I have a notification list for it as well, so you can subscribe for updates. Currently, I'm on Chapter 4. I did NaNoWriMo, but was focused on quality more than on quantity. I hope it's working.

I hope to hear from you all soon, and I'm going to start reading everybody's pages again. I miss it so much!

yester | current | tomorry | up again


Message Board

Name


URL
Message

Click!





Ellie Hingenbottom
b. 05/26. Writer. Vegetarian. Woman. Journaller. Survivor.




AgentMerp has created the Hitman Project, an excellent gallery of diary-author replication. Go find me!

join ellie's notify list!






The Mighty Kymm
Erasing
Reiny Day Rachel
Kismet


Support the fight against AIDS





All material on this site is maintained and copyrighted by Ellie Hingenbottom, 2001-2003
This site was made using Internet Explorer 5 for the Macintosh

i like it!